If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Original New York Seltzer Cola & Berry

Leave a comment

I’ll proceed with caution regarding ONYS’ other flavors, but at least I know they have one flavor I can savor.

Here’s hoping I can track down Cola & Berry. That seems like their most interesting flavor.

So I said when reviewing ONYS’ Peach flavor. Imagine my delight when, a few months later, I happened upon several bottles of Cola & Berry in a World Market. I bought it and drank it promptly, recording my impressions as I did so. Apologies for not writing up my thoughts sooner, but I simply never got around to it.

The following review is as verbatim from my notes as possible, so I apologize if the review is a bit rough around the edges.

All right….trying the Cola Berry soda from New York Seltzer…

Got sort of a cherry soda flavor, kind of like Cherrytree Cola.

Yep, got sort of a cherry cola taste. I can also taste a bit of an artificial berry flavor as well, although they assure me it’s natural flavors. So that must count for something.

It’s definitely sweet, it’s definitely got a berry flavor, but it’s not cloying. I’d have liked this chilled a little longer, I probably would like this a little better over ice, but…

Not bad. Probably the most enjoyable flavor of New York Seltzer I’ve had to date.

It’s sweet. It’s fizzy. It’s not so fizzy it’s overwhelming, it’s not so sweet it’s overwhelming either.

Fairly pleasant. I can’t say I would drink this over Cherrytree Cola, or, really, any good berry cola, but…yes, not bad, not bad at all.

I’m really glad they brought this flavor back, ’cause I’d been wanting to try it. I don’t know if it’ll get as widely distributed as the other flavors, but…at least I’ve got this one under my belt.

Yeah, it’s got a…I’m getting more of a floral lightness to it. It’s not…unenjoyable.

Not a whole lot to say about this one. I’d probably say none of the New York Seltzers I’ve had are really essential. But this one is probably the best I’ve had to date.

Maybe could use a little more outright cola flavor. Just a little.

Certainly an easy one to check off your soda list, if you’re a completist.

Leave a Reply

