If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

European Film Awards Nominations (2016)

Leave a comment

This will probably have even less bearing on the Oscars than the BIFAs, but awards are always fun. And I’m pretty sure I profiled the EFAs the last two years, so let’s to it.

Additional details available on the EFA’s website.

Best European Film:

  • Elle
  • I, Daniel Blake
  • Julieta
  • Room
  • Toni Erdmann

Weird to see Room here after it was a fixture of last year’s awards cycle. But it’s a fine film and worth the nod.

Love that Elle‘s here. I, Daniel Blake is welcome. Toni Erdmann, of course, I’m excited for. Julieta, I’m guessing, is here more because of Almodóvar’s reputation, but it does have its adherents.

Best European Comedy:

  • A Man Called Ove
  • Look Who’s Back
  • One Man and His Cow

I’ve seen A Man Called Ove; it’s quite good and very charming (it’s my #19 of the year to date), and I bet it’ll win.

Look Who’s Back is a German comedy about Hitler being transported to the modern world and taken for an impersonator of himself. I’m guessing the filmmakers pulled it off, otherwise I’m guessing the EFAs wouldn’t touch it with a pole.

One Man and His Cow is about a guy road-tripping with his cow. Truth in advertising, no?

Best European Director:

  • Maren Ade, Toni Erdmann
  • Pedro Almodóvar, Julieta
  • Ken Loach, I, Daniel Blake
  • Cristian Mungiu, Graduation
  • Paul Verhoeven, Elle

I find it really funny that Lenny Abrahamson didn’t get nominated here for Room…even though the Academy nominated him (which no one saw coming).

Rooting for Paul Verhoeven, because how can I not?

Best European Actor:

  • Javier Cámara, Truman
  • Hugh Grant, Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Dave Johns, I, Daniel Blake
  • Burghart Klaussner, The People vs. Fritz Bauer
  • Rolf Lassgård, A Man Called Ove
  • Peter Simonischek, Toni Erdmann

Fuck yeah, Hugh Grant!

He’s great in that film. He’s my #3 in Best Actor (and not a weak #3, either). So fucking glad he got recognized. Hopefully there’s more where that came from.

Lassgård is really solid too (my #9) as the crotchety Ove.

Simonischek sounds like a potential tour-de-force. Fritz Bauer sounds interesting – almost like Bridge of Spies but for postwar Germany. Truman sounds like a pretty generic social realist comedy-drama, albeit with a dog (named Truman).

Best European Actress:

  • Trine Dryholm, The Commune
  • Sandra Hüller, Toni Erdmann
  • Isabelle Huppert, Elle
  • Emma Suárez & Adriana Ugarte, Julieta
  • Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Like Crazy

Suárez and Ugarte both play Julieta. Which is interesting.

The Commune is the new Thomas Vinterberg, and I’ll probably need to see it.

As you might imagine, I’m rooting for Huppert.

Slightly surprised they didn’t have I, Daniel Blake sweep and give Hayley Squires a nomination.

Best European Screenwriter:

  • Maren Ade, Toni Erdmann
  • Emma Donoghue, Room
  • Paul Laverty, I, Daniel Blake
  • Cristian Mungiu, Graduation
  • Tomasz Wasilewski, United States of Love

United States of Love is an ensemble romance set in post-Communist Poland. Could be interesting.

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI:

  • Dogs
  • The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki
  • Liebmann
  • Sand Storm
  • Thirst

The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki is a Finnish drama about the titular boxer (a real person) trying to juggle his shot at the title with falling in love. I’m quite intrigued.

It and Sand Storm sound like the most interesting films on the list.

Best European Animated Film:

  • My Life as a Zucchini
  • Psiconautas, the Forgotten Children
  • The Red Turtle

Zucchini is French claymation about a boy in a foster home. Psiconautas is Spanish, and about teenage mice trying to deal with the ecological devastation of their home. The Red Turtle is French and Belgian, and about a man trying to escape a desert island, possibly with the help of a…red turtle.

No preference here. Psiconautas would probably be my choice if I had to pick one.

Best European Documentary:

  • A Family Affair
  • Fire at Sea
  • The Land of the Enlightened
  • Mr. Gaga
  • S is for Stanley
  • 21 x New York

21 x New York sounds interesting. A Family Affair sounds like the most emotionally compelling entry. Fire at Sea and Land of the Enlightened seem to have the political edge. Mr. Gaga and S is for Stanley are probably too slight to win.

Best European Short:

  • Amalimbo
  • Edmond
  • The Fullness of Time (Romance)
  • The Goodbye
  • Home
  • I’m Not From Here
  • In the Distance
  • Limbo
  • A Man Returned
  • 9 Days – From My Window in Aleppo
  • 90 Degrees North
  • Shooting Star
  • Small Talk
  • The Wall
  • We All Love the Sea Shore

Good God. 15 nominees. Not even gonna try and break these down.

I’ll just quote the description of The Fullness of Time (Romance):

Seated on the edge of the gaping rift, she waited so long, too long for the mountain to give back her lover, prisoner of the ice.

Until next time.

 

Leave a Reply

