If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Boylan Heritage Ginger Review

2 Comments

 
I’m quite familiar with Boylan’s soda, but I’m not entirely sure what this drink is. I would assume some type of ginger ale or beer, but who can say…taste untasted? (I guess “sight unseen” doesn’t really translate to the other senses.)

Cracking it open, I’m getting a sharp, ginger beery smell.

The first taste is a bit harsh–almost medicinal, like it might have fermented. It hasn’t, but it’s definitely not fitting comfortably into the ale or beer categories. It’s got a crispness, but that comes mostly in the aftertaste–up front, it’s very subtle, bordering on the bitter.

So far, I’m not overly impressed, but a look at the label suggests it was created more as a mixer than a standalone drink. So fair enough: let’s mix it with something!

I’ll go with Hochstadter’s Slow & Low whiskey. A very fine drink, especially for the price (around $20 a bottle).

Unfortunately, I seem to have screwed up the ratios, as I can barely taste the ginger for the whiskey.

It looks like it’s separated into two layers. No idea what that’s about.

Maybe this wasn’t a good choice of liquor. I’m not sure what would’ve been, but this isn’t working for me. And I don’t want to get drunk, so I’m not going to finish it.

Unless you know what to do with it, Boylan’s Heritage Ginger is not strongly recommended.

2 thoughts on “Boylan Heritage Ginger Review

  1. Pingback: Barritt’s Ginger Beer Review | If you want the gravy...

  2. You want to mix it with a dark rum, 1oz rum to 3-4oz ginger…yum.

Leave a Reply

