If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

POSTER SALAD III: Just a Whole Bunch of Shit

Leave a comment

I haven’t done of these since November. I’m not going to do every interesting poster that came out in the interim, but I’d like to highlight some of the best of the last month or two.

First, this poster for the new film by Greek New Wave director Athina Rachel Tsingari. I quite liked her film Attenberg, and this is hopefully comparably fascinating. I like the cryptic nature of the poster and love the tagline, and since most of you have probably never heard of her or her films, I thought it would be a choice to kick things off with.

A synopsis, from Variety’s review:

On a luxury yacht in the Aegean Sea, six male acquaintances embark on a rigorous series of personal and physical challenges, mercilessly grading each other to determine who is “the Best in General.”

I have no idea how much of a U.S. release this will get, but I’ll want to see it.

There’s something about this poster I just like. It feels like a throwback to, let’s say, the early-mid ’90s, with the lettering and the use of burgundy and brown (which you don’t see often). I also like the row of portraits at the bottom–that’s a poster trope I wouldn’t mind coming back.

The mass of red text is whatever, but on the whole, I just really dig this poster. I’m not on the edge of my seat waiting for the film, but I’ll probably review it just to highlight this poster again.

I really like both of these posters, so I decided to use both rather than pick one.

The first one, I like the use of the white background and how the action is framed by Emily Blunt’s profile. I’ve been seeing a lot of that lately–like in that first poster for Foxcatcher–and here it works especially well. The second one, I appreciate the Third Man homage and the typeface they used for the title. It’s a nice, grabby poster in its own right.

I’m still finding it hard to get excited about this film (I feel like Hollywood has milked cartels almost to death in the last decade), but at least they’re mounting a classy campaign.

A nice, simple design–two gangsters, tight-knit twin brothers, framed by the barrel of a gun. I like posters that aren’t afraid to use a lot of a negative space, and this is a nice little example of that. The red lettering is a nice touch as well.

This poster might actually be more distinctive than the film.

Purple and green–two colors you don’t see that much of on posters, and never together. So this poster already has a pretty much unique color scheme going for it.

I also like the protest-poster directness of it and the use of the suffragette symbol at the bottom. And the fact that they show Carey Mulligan almost from head to toe–you don’t see someone’s whole body in posters terribly often, either. That adds to the starkness of it, which I dig.

I’ll be honest, I like this poster far, far more than the trailer.

In a similar vein, here’s Saoirse Ronan, dwarfed by the Brooklyn Bridge yet the focal point of the image. She’s our protagonist, she’s in a vast new world…and it’s a period piece. A very efficient and clean poster.

I like the use of the brick wall. I don’t know why, it just feels…old-fashioned. Like people don’t lean against walls so much anymore.

Since I had this poster on the consideration list, and since it fits the theme I’ve got going, here it is.

I’m not especially interested in the film (though I like John Hawkes well enough), but posters like this, that really immerse you in the setting, are always good by me. The vaguely stylized coloring helps–pink/purple and orange is an interesting combo, and I always like a good nocturnal cityscape.

And you can’t hate a poster with a marquee that uses a Yeats quote to advertise a strip club.

Apparently this movie’s about Efron as a DJ. It’s directed by some guy who’s only done documentaries up to this point. I doubt I’ll be interested.

I like this poster a lot, though. Pure 80’s throwback, from the electric colors to the Lichtenstein-esque dot shading to the Max Headroom-esque background…it’s a really good poster for a film I’ll probably never see.

But that’s why I do Poster Salads.

I already discussed how I’m not that keen on this film, but this is a pretty good poster. I like the use of the hats as visual synecdoche for the characters. And that sort of tan-gold shade is one you don’t see a lot of anymore–I want to say it was used more in the 80s, but now adds to the nostalgic vibe.

At a time when films’ main posters tend to be bland portraiture, teaser posters like this tend to feature the most compelling art.

Now, here’s a film I have virtually no interest in. It looks like a generic “white people in peril in a foreign land” film, albeit with a slightly weird cast–Owen Wilson is a bizarre choice for this kind of role, and while I’m glad Lake Bell is getting work, it seems like she’s just getting cast in random shit. And the print campaign is mostly whatever.

But this poster I really, really like. I love Chinese dragon imagery, and the use of lighter blue and darker red (instead of teal and orange, which you see a bit too much of anymore) is quite striking. I also like the little inset of stylized characters and setting–an old school touch. Even the texturing, which I normally find more distracting, works well here.

This might be one of the bigger gaps I can recall between my interest in a film and my admiration for its poster. (Actually, the film might be good for some bad laughs–that scene where they toss the kids from one roof to another is pretty funny.)

An Austrian horror/thriller, it appears.

Love the red-orange filter–and making the eyes white amps up the creepy factor decidedly. The typeface for the title is pretty nifty as well.

I don’t care for the tagline, at least not the way it’s presented here. Shitty font, looks like something from an indie film. Otherwise, neat poster.

Another horror movie poster, this one a very clear 80s homage, what with the painted look of the image and the blood-red title (even the typeface is kind of retro). The subtle detail of the face is cool as well, although it’s a touch cruder than I’d like.

I also find it interesting that the director’s middle name is “Egypt”. Apparently his only other credit to date has been a MySpace reality series called Jerk All-Stars, but he’s got another film coming after this one called Holidays co-starring Kevin Smith and Seth Green (!). Not especially interested in either film, but points for being genuinely strange.

Another case of a film (a Danish horror film) having two posters which I really liked.

The first is one of the better recent uses of the blue/orange trope, especially with the subtle detail of the minsicule hiking figure in the middle. It’s the story of a girl who turns into a werewolf (or some kind of were-creature), so the use of contrasting images and colors really works.

The second is a bit less distinctive, but I like the silver/yellow scheme (yellow used right is really incredibly effective), and her face overwhelming the frame is appropriately unsettling.

Less conventionally unsettling but still compelling is this poster for the Stanley Milgram biopic (which I’m quite interested in seeing). You’ve got Peter Sarsgaard’s creepy squint (which is both fearsome and fearful), Winona Ryder looking nervous (and the pattern on her shirt throws things further off-kilter), and the cold, sterile lab they’re sitting in.

Also, the fact that all the text is at the top of the image, so that the bottom seems open, exposed…vulnerable. It’s an inversion of the standard format, and subconsciously it really does enhance the “off”-ness of the image. Makes me even more excited for the film.

I just really like this kind of minimalized stylization. It’s clear, it’s simple, and it’s pleasing to the eye. Also, another case of rarely used colors–the sort of blue-sea green they used for “Black” stands out. Using the fist to form the A doesn’t hurt either.

It’s a documentary, and as such I doubt I’ll see it, but the poster is quite cool.

Not really that great of a poster, but the style is reminiscent of the early 2000s (especially the faux-rugged font and the stars), so for nostalgia’s sake I’ll put it here. I also like the use of the skyline at the bottom.

I don’t particularly care about the movie (I’ve never really warmed to Asa Butterfield, though the reviews are a little more positive than I recalled), but the poster is what matters.

This is less about the poster than about the film.

I heard about this film last year and made it one of the entries on my “Most Anticipated” list last summer, but then heard nothing more and assumed it fell through the cracks. But…here it is. Will I ever see it? Not terribly likely. But here it is.

And it’s not a terrible poster. A bit generic, but the sketchy blue skyline is nice, and setting the characters against an otherwise-blank background is an interesting touch. So I don’t feel bad about including it.

I like the stained-glass style. It would’ve been better–in fact, it would have been one of the best posters of the year–had they used real stained glass, but no matter. I don’t like the style of the title (it looks chintzy), but otherwise, it’s a nice poster. I also like Rogen’s sweater.

I really hope this movie is as funny as it has the potential to be. Rogen’s last few movies have been funny, but they haven’t quite broken through into the realm of hilarity for me. The Interview was a step up, though. Maybe this will delight me.

I’m already sold on this film, but I thought I’d share the UK poster, which is much better than the American poster. This pays homage to the 70s underground comics which, I believe, the heroine is a fan of. Had it extended that style to the characters themselves it would’ve been even better, but still, it’s a bright, happy poster. (And again, the blue-red/pink contrast.)

Also, I like that this poster shows the protagonist actually recording the story, telling it to us (as she does in the film), rather than sitting there passively.

 

I had to end with this, because…what the fuck is this? I guess it’s Turkish?

It takes a weird title and depicts it literally, so points for that. Weird tagline, too–too old to be a rebel? The person in the poster looks like they’re maybe 25, max.

Here’s a synopsis:

A young boy meets a photographer while helping his drug dealer friend and decides to move in his house.

It’s apparently a Turkish-Czech co-production in English and Turkish. I can find very little information about the makers or stars, other than they all seem to be working on another upcoming film called Flying Balloons.

So strange. ‘Till the next time.

Leave a Reply

