If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Boots Beverages Dewberry Soda Review

2 Comments


It’s hot. I want a soda.

I have soda.

Namely, I still have a couple of craft sodas sitting in my fridge awaiting my delectation. And even if they’re flatter than an armadillo on the interstate, they’re cold and sweet, and that’ll do just fine.

From Boots Beverages, and the Bellville Bottling Works in Bryan, Texas, we have Dewberry Soda. There’s just one problem.

What the hell is a dewberry?

“The dewberries are a group of species in the genus Rubus, section Rubus, closely related to the blackberries. They are small trailing (rather than upright or high-arching) brambles with berries reminiscent of the raspberry, but are usually purple to black instead of red.”

Thanks, Wikipedia! Now let’s see just how this not-blackberry is!

A little hiss when I opened the bottle…and it fizzed up. A good sign.

Didn’t catch the scent. But it has a very fruity taste, not unlike a fruit juice.

It is a little flat, though not disastrously so. It’s sweet and berryish–it tastes almost like grape juice.

Personally, it’s a bit too sweet for my liking. I’ve never been a huge fruit-soda fan to begin with, but this is one of those sodas that could get real cloying if it’s not ice-cold. If fruit sodas are your thing, then you’ll probably be fine with it, but to me it’s like drinking candy.

So what about Boots Beverages? Founded by Boots Kristen, it started as a bottling company but now crafts its own sodas in five flavors; the Red Hot and Caramel Colas sound the most interesting to me (Coconut Soda? That…no.)

Finished. Again, not too bad if berry sodas are your thing, but aside from cherry soda, it’s not really my thing.

2 thoughts on “Boots Beverages Dewberry Soda Review

  1. Boots Beverages, Dewberry Soda.
    I tried a four pack of this beverage, and have grown, picked, and eaten dewberries for 42 of my 48 years of life. This soda does not have any semblance or essence of the taste of a natural dewberry, very disappointing…

Leave a Reply

