If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

From the New Year to the New Best Picture: The Next Two Months of Gravy

Leave a comment

(<a href=

2014 winds down, but awards season is far from over. The next two months are going to be epic, nowhere more so than here, where I strive to be an oasis of common sense and good judgment in a sea of emotional appeals, dirty campaigning, swelling orchestral music, and golden-filtered nostalgia.

There are films to see and articles to write. Read on to see what I’ve got in store.

Some time ago, I worked backwards from the date of the Oscars to arrive at a suitable schedule for my awards articles:

  • 1/11: Golden Globes predictions
  • 1/12: Golden Globes Wrap-Up
  • 1/15: Oscar nominations analysis
  • 1/21: Most Overrated/Underrated Films of 2014
  • 1/24: Most Anticipated Films of 2014, Mark I
  • 1/27: First Oscar Predictions
  • 1/28: 1st Anniversary of If You Want the Gravy…
  • 1/31: The 20 Best and 10 Worst Films of 2014
  • 2/1: Longlists to Nominees: Visual Effects
  • 2/2: Longlists to Nominees: Sound Editing and Sound Mixing
  • 2/3: Longlists to Nominees: Original Score and Original Song
  • 2/4: Longlists to Nominees: Production Design, Costume Design, and Makeup
  • 2/5: Longlists to Nominees: Editing
  • 2/6: Longlists to Nominees: Cinematography
  • 2/7: Longlists to Nominees: Adapted Screenplay
  • 2/8: Longlists to Nominees: Original Screenplay
  • 2/9: Longlists to Nominees: Supporting Actress
  • 2/10: Longlists to Nominees: Supporting Actor
  • 2/11: Longlists to Nominees: Actress
  • 2/12: Longlists to Nominees: Actor
  • 2/13: Longlists to Nominees: Director
  • 2/14: Longlists to Nominees: Picture
  • 2/15: My 4th Annual Film Awards nominees
  • 2/21: My 4th Annual Film Awards and Full Rankings by Category
  • 2/22: Final Oscar predictions and possibly Oscar Live-Blog
  • 2/23: Oscar Wrap-Up
Cannot. Fucking. Wait. (Source)

Cannot. Fucking. Wait. (Source)

I’m giving myself time, especially in the latter half of January, to catch up as much as possible on the films which I haven’t seen or been able to see yet. First, here are the films that I intend to see in the next 8 days:

  • Annie (maybe)
  • Big Eyes
  • The Imitation Game
  • Inherent Vice (seeing it on the 8th)
  • The Interview
  • Unbroken
  • Wild (I know I need to see it, I just…don’t really want to)

And from that point on, I expect to be adding the following films to my rankings (dates in parentheses are when they open in my area):

  • Selma (1/9)
  • American Sniper (1/16)
  • Foxcatcher (1/16)
  • Goodbye to Language 3D (1/16)
  • Mr. Turner (2/13)
  • Leviathan (2/27 – hope it’s sooner)
  • National Gallery (N/A)
  • Two Days, One Night (N/A – yawn)
Soon. (Source)

Soon. (Source)

And here are the films in my Netflix queue which I intend to watch before I announce my final nominees (this list is especially subject to change)

  • Blue Ruin 
  • The Double
  • Frequencies
  • Norte, the End of History
  • Nymphomaniac – Director’s Cut
  • The One I Love
  • The Strange Color of Your Body’s Tears
  • We Are the Best!
  • Wetlands

There are several other films, like Filth and Metro Manila, where I’m dubious about their eligibility. Such cases will be decided in due time.

As of today, I have seen 85 films which are eligible for my 2014 awards. With the films I expect to see in the coming months, I hope to raise that number to 108–which would be a new record for me for a given year.

I’ll tell you right now, it’s been a good year, too. While no film so far has scored higher than 91. 16 films to date make my **** range (87-100), far better than 2013 or 2011 and on par with 2012 (which has 17, and I might bump a couple of its ***½ films up). Also, only 3 films score below 26 (the Utter Shite-* range), compared to 7 from 2013. I’ve watched more great films and far fewer shitty films than I did last year (in large part because the friend who bade me watch shitty films moved away), and on the whole, I’m very happy.

But we’re not done yet. There’s a lot of biscuits to get before we can have the gravy.

Leave a Reply

