If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Golden Globes Nominees!

Leave a comment

Hanging on by a thread.

Hanging on by a thread.

And now it’s getting serious. The Globes have put forth their nominees, and I must say, we’ve got a couple of surprises–and yet, it’s kind of clear where things are heading. Kind of.

I’m only going to cover the film awards. The TV awards will be shows I don’t watch competing against shows I don’t watch. (And reading over them, I occasionally wonder, “That show is still on?”)

(NOTE: I intended to include more illustrations, but owing to computer trouble, could not do so.)

Motion Picture – Drama:

  • Boyhood
  • Foxcatcher
  • The Imitation Game
  • Selma
  • The Theory of Everything

Unbroken is out. This doesn’t mean the Academy won’t nominate it, but I think we have to consider that as a potential outcome. It’ll get tech noms at the very least (and maybe Roger Deakins will finally win an Oscar), but I think the odds are solidly against it. Nightcrawler isn’t here either, but that doesn’t really mean anything. The Globes didn’t nominate Dallas Buyers Club in this category, after all.

I also just realized Gone Girl didn’t make it. That might be a bad sign. I’m not sure.

Otherwise, no real surprises here. Glad Selma made it. Foxcatcher lives on, which I’m fine with (though at the expense, here at least, of A Most Violent Year), though I’m not certain the Academy will bite (the Globes put Rush here last year, which the Academy didn’t go for at all). And the Turing-Hawking showdown continues.

But Boyhood has to be considered the frontrunner. By a mile, the way things are turning out.

Motion Picture – Comedy/Musical:

  • Birdman
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Into the Woods
  • Pride
  • St. Vincent

Pride got on? Good for them. That was a great little film. Kind of surprised St. Vincent made it, but that’s the Globes for you (this category in particular has some weird picks). Into the Woods being here was a foregone conclusion. If it weren’t here, it would have been a huge red flag. Sorry there wasn’t room for Inherent Vice or Top Five, though.

Also, I realized (a few categories on, actually) that Whiplash isn’t here. Maybe they weren’t sure what to classify it as? It’s kind of a musical. But it’s really a drama. I won’t say this scotches its Oscar chances or anything, but it is worth noting.

Birdman is the frontrunner, but don’t rule out GBH. Both made excellent showings today.

Director – Motion Picture:

  • Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Ava DuVernay, Selma
  • David Fincher, Gone Girl
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Very happy for Ava DuVernay. First woman of color to get a nomination here. And it’s looking like she’ll do it at the Oscars too. Winning is another matter–this category has a definite frontrunner–but don’t count her out.

And Anderson’s here! That surprises me. I don’t think he’ll make the Oscar list (like how Paul Greengrass didn’t make it last year), but don’t count him out, either. This also boosts GBH’s clout as a Best Picture contender.

So Fincher got on here but the film didn’t get a Picture nom. That’s strange, especially since Morton Tyldum (Imitation Game) didn’t make it. I bet Gone Girl was a close #6 for Picture – Drama (they sometimes go 6 or even 7 in a category, so why not there?).

But Linklater is the favorite. He’s been winning like crazy. I’d give this to Fincher or Iñárritu, at least based on what I’ve seen, but Linklater seems the safest bet.

Actor – Drama:

  • Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
  • Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
  • Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
  • David Oyelowo, Selma
  • Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Four of the five SAG nominees, and Oyelowo. And Michael Keaton’s in Comedy/Musical. So now I’m kind of scared, because the Oscars have to pick five of those six. Since Keaton not getting on would be utter bullshit, one of these guys will have to drop out. But who?

Oyelowo might, because he’s a latecomer and has the fewest nominations. But if they go big for Selma, omitting him would look bad. Gyllenhaal might, just because he’s in a small film and because shit happens. But if that sneaks into Best Picture, he kind of has to come along. And then there’s Carell, who’s in a film of uncertain popularity, but this performance has been praised to death. So…fuck. I’ll say Oyelowo and hope to be proven wrong (I’d love if the Academy made a choice and just went with Cumberbatch or Redmayne, but that’s astronomically unlikely).

And who wins this? I’ll assume Cumberbatch. Because he’s Benedict Cumberbatch.

Actress – Drama:

  • Jennifer Aniston, Cake
  • Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
  • Reese Witherspoon, Wild

No Cotillard again. That’s very, very strange. She got on for Rust and Bone and the Academy didn’t bite. Maybe the reverse will happen this year?

And Aniston’s here again. For a film that’s apparently not that good. Apparently her actual performance is good, but…I still don’t see an Oscar nomination happening. And even if it did…Moore is winning. By a mile, I’m sure.

Actor – Comedy/Musical:

  • Ralph Fiennes, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Michael Keaton, Birdman
  • Bill Murray, St. Vincent
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Inherent Vice
  • Christoph Waltz, Big Eyes

No James Corden (the Baker in Into the Woods). That, I think, says a lot. Especially since Christoph Waltz is here (when Amy Adams was the one everyone was talking about).

Murray finally got on, but in this category, it would’ve been a shock had he not. Glad to see Phoenix. Figured Fiennes would make it.

But Keaton is winning. By a mile and a half.

Actress – Comedy/Musical:

  • Amy Adams, Big Eyes
  • Emily Blunt, Into the Woods
  • Helen Mirren, The One Hundred Foot Journey
  • Julianne Moore, Maps to the Stars
  • Quvenzhané Wallis, Annie

Hell yeah, Julianne Moore for Maps! And I’m glad for Quvenzhané Wallis.

Now, Blunt being here doesn’t mean as much as Into the Woods supporters might think. Because she is one of only two (bet you can’t guess the other!) acting citations for it. And if the Globes don’t go whole hog for a musical, that’s a worrisome sign. No Anna Kendrick, no Chris Pine…I think we have a letdown on our hands. Because, come on, Helen Mirren? For that film? Give me a fucking break. (Tessa Thompson. That’s all I have to say.)

I have no idea who’ll win this. I’ll guess Amy Adams, but she won this last year.

Supporting Actor – Motion Picture:

  • Robert Duvall, The Judge
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
  • J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Duvall again. What the fuck.

Also, these are the same five as the SAG nominees. Chances are, this is our Oscar lineup.

Simmons will win, Norton might upset, the end, whatever.

Supporting Actress – Motion Picture:

  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
  • Jessica Chastain, A Most Violent Year
  • Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
  • Emma Stone, Birdman
  • Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Naomi Watts is out (shock), and Chastain is in (shock). And Arquette will win, though Stone would be my pick.

And no Tilda. Yawn.

Screenplay – Motion Picture:

  • Birdman
  • Boyhood
  • Gone Girl
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • The Imitation Game

And Gone Girl’s here, too? It must have just missed a Picture – Drama nomination.

Birdman is tentatively your favorite here, but GBH might just nab it. Selma missed out, but the Globes only have one Screenplay category, so I’m not going to worry about that just yet.

Original Score – Motion Picture:

  • Birdman
  • Gone Girl
  • The Imitation Game
  • Interstellar
  • The Theory of Everything

No Under the SkinAll is Lost winning this last year suggested a willingness to go arthouse (that and the Greta Gerwig nomination, which I loved). It also leaves us without a frontrunner in this category. (I’ll just guess Birdman.)

Glad Interstellar made it, though. It has my vote.

Original Song – Motion Picture:

  • “Big Eyes”, Big Eyes
  • “Glory”, Selma
  • “Mercy Is”, Noah
  • “Opportunity”, Annie
  • “Yellow Flicker Beat”, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part I

Wow. On paper, this looks like a fucking terrible category. I haven’t heard any of the songs, though (well, I might have heard the one from Noah, but I’ve mostly forgotten that movie). So let’s give them a listen!

“Big Eyes” is kind of the standard Lana Del Rey deal with me. I like the instrumentals a lot, but I don’t like the way she sings. Her cover of “Once Upon a Dream” is the only time I really liked her singing. So I get the nomination, but I probably wouldn’t vote for it.

“Glory”: I like John Legend (“Who Did That to You” from Django should’ve been up for an Oscar), and I like rap (though I’m not that familiar with Common). This song, though…it feels like it really needs to be wedded to images for maximum impact. On its own, it’s okay, but it feels like it was written to accompany a scene, not to really stand on its own.

“Mercy Is” isn’t bad. Patti Smith does a fine job singing it. I don’t like the movie much, but the song is good.

“Opportunity” is pretty standard musical fare. Quvenzhané Wallis sings it really well, though. If this won, I wouldn’t mind too much.

“Yellow Flicker Beat”: Not a huge Lorde fan (“Royals” is catchy and all, but…), but this might objectively be the best song here. That’s not saying much, though.

These are all okay songs. But compared to what we had last year, this is dismal. Why didn’t they just nominate “Everything is Awesome” or “I Love You All” from Frank? Feeble.

Animated Film:

  • Big Hero 6
  • The Book of Life
  • The Boxtrolls
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • The Lego Movie

I’ll rewatch The Lego Movie soon. I just scored a copy. It’s also the only thing that’s winning here.

Foreign Language Film:

  • Force Majeure
  • Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem
  • Ida
  • Leviathan
  • Tangerines

No Two Days, One Night or Wild Tales. Or Mommy. Curious.

Ida probably wins, but I’m rooting for Force or Leviathan.

And that’s that for the Globes. Birdman and Boyhood continue to look good, and the Supporting categories seem increasingly sewn up, but beyond that, we’ve got some definite room for doubt. And I’m all right with that.

Leave a Reply

