If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

TRAILER SALAD VI: INSIDE OUT, AMERICAN SNIPER, THE MULE, BLACK SEA, THE WATER DIVINER, HORRIBLE BOSSES 2, SUMMER OF BLOOD

Leave a comment

While I’m still figuring out just how to review the Nick Cave documentary 20,000 Days on Earth, how about some trailers?

First off, we’ve got the new Pixar, which looks pretty delightful. It’s got a hell of a voice cast–Amy Poehler, Lewis Black, Mindy Kaling, Bill Hader, and Phyllis Smith are the emotions–and a rich premise, so I expect this to be a bounce back from Monsters University (I will defend Brave, however). I am a little curious as to why 4 of the 5 emotions are negatives, or why Disgust is a separate emotion (though, Kaling is voicing Disgust, so objection I will waive), but I trust all will be satisfactorily explained.

Clint Eastwood’s Chris Kyle biopic, at the very least, looks much better than Jersey Boys or J. Edgar. I’m not sure if it’ll be a factor in the awards game this year or not–some are predicting it, though–but at the very least I could see Bradley Cooper getting a third nomination off of this. (According to Wikipedia, the film will not cover the alleged feud with and subsequent lawsuit from Jesse Ventura. I’m not sure how I feel about that.)

Click “Continue Reading” for the most awesomely gross trailer since Wetlands.

Oh, fuck yeah. This looks right up my alley (no pun intended). I’m a fan of Australian cinema, and this is a good example why: a great sense of dark humor, a carefully judged but uncompromised approach to the grotesque, and of course, Hugo Weaving (who could contend for my Supporting Actor award if this is eligible).

No, it doesn’t look great, but as January thrillers go, it looks solid enough. I’d certainly watch it, if I didn’t have any 2014 carryovers that demanded my attention. Jude Law can usually be counted on. (Also, I need to get around to watching Below. Submarine thriller, co-written by Darren Aronofsky, with Zach Galifianakis as “Weird Wally”. Need I say more?)

Russell Crowe turns director. Surprisingly, it doesn’t look that bad. Could still end up being kind of a sentimental slog, but the cinematography looks good, and it has the potential to capture that old-fashioned-adventure spirit.

I liked the first Horrible Bosses. This…eh, it looks fun, but sort of in a “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it sequel” kind of way. Not enough Christoph Waltz in the trailer. Too many connections to the first (I’m really not sure why Aniston is back, good as she was in the first film)Might see this, might not.

On one hand, the lead character (played by the writer-director) looks like a complete ass, which could prove very tiresome. On the other hand, this looks like it has a pretty good sense of gruesome humor. So as long as it uses the lead’s obnoxiousness to its advantage, it could be quite fun.

Oh, and since I couldn’t embed it, here’s a trailer for WildLike, a film about a teenage runaway that co-stars Bruce Greenwood. If I can share the trailer properly, I’ll do so in a future Salad.

Leave a Reply

