If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Trailer Salad III: THE POSTMAN’S WHITE NIGHTS, PASOLINI (NSFW), NAS: TIME IS ILLMATIC, BIG GAME, YOU’RE NOT YOU, THE EQUALIZER, CYMBELINE, GIRLHOOD

Leave a comment

I didn’t even know about this until just today, and then it wins the Silver Lion (the Best Director prize) at Venice! Andrei Konchalovsky’s had an up-and-down career, from the awesomeness of Runaway Train to the wretchedness of The Nutcracker in 3D. But this looks absolutely marvelous, a look at a strange, almost magical (but not necessarily in a faeries-and-unicorns way) world–possibly there will be some nods to Russia’s vast folkloric heritage. And the cinematography and score appear to be top-notch. Very, very excited to see this.

But wait, there’s more!

Abel Ferrara tackles the final days of Pier Paolo Pasolini. The director of Bad Lieutenant making a film about the director of Salo? I’m intrigued. Add in a starring performance from Willem Dafoe and I’m sold.

A documentary about Nas–and from the looks of it, a pretty solid one. I’m not really familiar with his music (which I need to rectify), but I’d like to check this out.

Oh, this looks bad-fucking-ass. From the man who brought us Rare Exports (which was fun), comes a film about Samuel L. Jackson and a young Finnish hunter fighting for survival. And Jim Broadbent is in it, too. Bring it the fuck on.

Call me an asshole, but I think this looks laughably shitty. Pure sentimental awards-bait garbage, hitting every clichéd beat along the way–and if you think I’m about to say, “and it works”, you’re in for a disappointment. No dice, Hilary Swank (there are rumors she’ll be an Oscar contender for The Homesmanbut I’m not banking on it). And why is Emmy Rossum still trying to have a film career, exactly?

Still not sure about this one. It could be a cut above the normal thriller, or it could be a normal thriller. Washington looks like he’s doing a good job, as usual, but really, can’t this kind of film find a new kind of villain? Does it always have to be the Russian mob, or the cartels, or the triads? We’ll just see what the reviews are like. (Update: they’re kind of split down the middle in that regard. Some say it’s awesome, some say it’s just there. So I’ll go and judge for myself.)

Oh, Jesus. Updating Shakespeare is always a dangerous proposition, but this looks to be one of the worst examples to date. I don’t get why Almereyda thinks a biker gang is comparable to the royal family of ancient Britain, but I’m not sure he cares, either. This just looks like a faux-cool trainwreck. A shame, since the idea of filming a comparatively little-known play had me interested.

I’m always down for a good coming-of-age story. And to see that focuses on women of color is quite refreshing. It just looks really well done, Karidja Touré looks to be giving a strong performance (another Best Actress contender whom the major awards will totally overlook), and I quite like the score. It’d be nice to see this get submitted for Best Foreign Film.

I was not expecting to want to see this so much. I expected it’d be a pretty straightforward concert film or documentary or whatever. But Nick Cave was involved, so of course I was wrong. This looks awesome. Drafthouse Films is usually–I say usually–pretty reliable. And this, with a charismatic subject and an engaging approach, appears to be worthy.

Leave a Reply

