Trailer Salad II: A PIGEON SAT ON A BRANCH, LEVIATHAN, WINTER SLEEP, THE IDENTICAL, ROCKS IN MY POCKETS (slightly NSFW), THE HUMBLING, A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT, TUSK, and Posters for SHELTER and MEN, WOMEN & CHILDREN

Have I not said enough about how great Pigeon will be already? Do you need more evidence? Anyone want a shrimp sandwich and a beer, for free?

Likewise, I just want to see this damn film. I’m ready to see some great new Russian cinema.

It won the Palme d’Or, but that raises my expectations less than my regard for Once Upon a Time in Anatolia. I’m not sure if this’ll be as good as that was, but I’m going to see it regardless.

Yeah………………………………………………………

I thought this might be an interesting, offbeat little gem. Then the reviews came in. Now I’m excited in a whole different way.

Personally, I think this looks quite interesting. I’m always interested in independent animation (I’m still waiting to see Consuming Spirits), and this, a portrait of troubled women, by the scion of their family, looks to be worthwhile.

Other critics have pointed out the rather trite nature of the straight-man-switches-a-lesbian’s-orientation storyline (used to great effect in Gigli), let alone the triteness of the old-man-young-woman romance, but Al Pacino looks like he’s giving a great performance, so for that alone I’ll consider watching it.

Oh, hell yeah. This looks awesome. An Iranian film about vampires, apparently (just waiting on a trailer with English subtitles), with obvious spaghetti-western stylings, shot in glorious (and I mean glorious) black-and-white.

What the fuck, Kevin Smith?

Only 8 trailers this time, but I discovered the poster for Paul Bettany’s Shelter today and wanted to share it. I really like it; the simplicity and boldness of it suggests posters of the 60s and 70s, particularly for live performances (if you told me this was an opera, I’d believe you):

()
(Source)

And while we’re at it, let’s have the Men, Women & Children poster, which is also really cool and furthers my belief that this could be something special:

()
(Source)

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment