If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Taking a break

1 Comment

I’m starting to feel a bit of burn-out. Not that my love for movies has abated–not in the slightest. But I’ve been writing a lengthy (1,500 words or more; Snowpiercer was almost 4,000) review for every new movie I see, and a few older ones. And while it’s refreshing to be able to express my complete thoughts–for a long time I was just writing 500-character capsule reviews over at Criticker–after a while fatigue does begin to set in, and a feeling of repeating oneself becomes very hard to shake. 

On top of this, I’m on the verge of moving, and this summer (in film, at least) is kind of running out of steam. This coming weekend has Hercules and Lucy, both of which I’d like to see–but at the same time, the thought of writing lengthy reviews does not inspire me. I’m right now working through my reviews of The Purge: Anarchy and Venus in Fur (spoiler alert: neither are particularly great) and putting together a list of my most wanted films, and I’m finding my stores of inspiration running rather low.

So here’s the deal. Within the next 2-3 days, I plan to have the two reviews up. Then, I’m going to step away for a few days, perhaps up to a week, until I’m settled into my new place–and have seen Guardians of the Galaxy and Boyhood, two of my most anticipated films of the year. I’ll also weigh in on Hercules and Lucy at some point–maybe even do an article comparing them; that actually sounds like an idea–but there’ll be a period of relative inactivity on here, and it’s not out of indifference. It’s out of a desire to maintain a high standard.

If the biscuits are no good, what use is the gravy?

One thought on “Taking a break

  1. Pingback: Catching Up Reviews: LUCY (**½), HERCULES (***½), GET ON UP (***½), A MOST WANTED MAN (***½) | If you want the gravy...

Leave a Reply

