If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Moxie Review

2 Comments

This drank has…moxie!

Moxie is a pretty legendary soda. The official soft drink of Maine¹, it’s been around since 1876, when it was created as a patent medicine named “Moxie Nerve Food” (source). Later it was carbonated and was widely disseminated, and if Wikipedia is to be believed, the slang term “moxie” came from its name. Which, if true, is pretty awesome.

While it’s now not widely known outside of the Northeast, I’ve been able to drink it a couple of times before, and I’ll say this: it’s unique. It’s hard to describe the taste, because it’s so unlike anything else out there. So, haven gotten ahold of another bottle, and having chilled it thoroughly, I’m ready to write this bad boy up!

Yeah, it’s kind of indescribable.

Medicinal, a little bit…there’s some bitterness in there–more bitter than I remember–a bit of a cola flavor…

I swear it used to taste sort of like Dr. Pepper mixed with orange soda. But this…I don’t even know what to say about this.

I guess I have to ask the ultimate question: is it good?

I don’t like the bitterness of it. There’s a really good soda in there, and maybe the issue was just with this particular bottle or batch, but this just doesn’t taste quite right.

I hope I’m not being poisoned. This’d be a shite way to go.

Yeah, again, there’s a nice sort of herbal soda in there, but it’s got a bitterness that keeps me from really loving it. It’s been a while since I last drank it (long enough that they tweaked the label in the interim), but they’ve been making this stuff for 130 years, I’m not sure why they would change it now.

Okay, it’s got “gentian root extractives” (“extractives”, that’s a good old-fashioned patent-medicine word for you). And yeah, it’s bitter as fuck. Well, that explains it.

But hey, gentiana lutea is commonly used to treat digestive ailments! So…yay!

I finished that with no real issue. If you don’t mind the bitterness, it’s actually a really good (and extremely unique) soda. Any serious soda fan needs to drink it at least once.

P.S. Sitting here and thinking it over after the fact, it really wasn’t bad at all. I might have been a little harsher on it than it deserved.

¹Fun fact: it’s now produced by Cornucopia Beverages in Bedford, New Hampshire. I don’t know if that’s a bone of contention among New Englanders (I am not one), but it would be funny if it was.

2 thoughts on “Moxie Review

  1. Pingback: IKEA Julmust Review | If you want the gravy...

  2. Pingback: Jic Jac Black Cherry Soda Review | If you want the gravy...

Leave a Reply

