If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Maine Root Pumpkin Pie Soda Review

1 Comment

After my recent debacle involving a peanut butter-flavored soda, I was understandably a bit wary about future excursions into, shall we say, unconventionally flavored sodas. But since I already had this soda on hand, I was going to have to drink it. And hey, it’s Fair Trade certified–so at least I can feel good about something.

Has a nutmeggish scent. The taste is actually not too bad. It’s got that spiciness to it, and a creamy, pumpkin-y taste to it–I’d said that the peanut butter soda would have been better off as more of a cream soda than…whatever the fuck it was, but this pumpkin pie soda seems to have, more or less, the right idea.

It doesn’t taste all that much like pumpkin (neither did the pumpkin beer I tried once), but I appreciate the spiciness of it. It’s not an imitation ginger ale, either, it’s a pretty unique flavor.

I like it. I’m not sure I would go back to it often (maybe during the holiday season), but it’s actually, in its own right, a very interesting drink.

As you might guess from the name, it hails from Maine–Portland, to be exact. I’m curious about this company. Let’s see what else they’ve got.

They could have balanced the spiciness and creaminess here a little better, to be honest. After a while it starts to wear on you a bit–like an overspiced pie.

I’d almost say it tastes a bit more like eggnog (and I could get an eggnog soda, if I wanted one and hated myself).

Okay, Maine Root has a blueberry soda. That sounds like something worth trying, if only because I’ve never encountered a blueberry soda before.

Yeah, the name is misleading. This is really a nutmeg soda, but I’m not sure how many people would’ve dared to try that.

Well, that’s that. Not bad overall, but definitely something you want to drink sparingly. I give it credit for being what it set out to be.

And…it’s Fair Trade.

One thought on “Maine Root Pumpkin Pie Soda Review

  1. Pingback: Maine Root Blueberry Soda Review | If you want the gravy...

Leave a Reply

