If you want the gravy…

…You've got to get the biscuits!

Excel Black Cherry Soda Review

Leave a comment

Not all that great a soda. Just sort of there.

Today’s soda is from the Excel Bottling Company in Breese, IL. (Finally, we’re out of New England.) It’s a black cherry soda. Let’s get to it.

Off to a pretty decent start. I’m getting that “snow cone syrup” vibe, which I hope doesn’t get too cloying, but while it’s cold, it’s pretty good.

Still good. Sweet–maybe pushing it a little bit in that regard–but I like it.

Eating a salad whilst I’m doing this. Because I’m a champ.

Not going to lie, I wish this was a little more genuinely cherry-flavored; the tartness of real cherries would be a good contrast to the sweetness of the artificial flavorings they’ve got going on here.

At least it’s a cane sugar soda. That counts for something.

Yeah, not a lot to say about this one. It’s fine, but it’s just a little too fake tasting for me.

“Since 1936!” says the bottle. Just like my uncle. And they’re both from Illinois.

I’ve literally never heard of the town they make this in. Or this company.

Ok, I’ve heard of some of their products, like Frostie and Ski.

And Rummy grapefruit soda. Interesting.

They also make beer. Weird. I might actually try some of these. Namely Shoal Creek Winter Ale.

Not the IPA, though. Way too hoppy.

Still drinking this soda. It’s starting to get warm, and the fakeness of the flavoring is becoming more obvious.

Done. Yeah, finish this one while it’s cold. If you’re drinking it at all. Which…there’s better stuff out there. This is pretty run-of-the-mill fruit soda.

Leave a Reply

